top cloud hosting company jaipur

Aam Aadmi Party returns to power for 3rd consecutive term in Delhi

Aam Aadmi Party returns to power for 3rd consecutive term in Delhi 1

Aam Aadmi Party has come back to power in Delhi for the third term, winning Assembly elections with a thumping majority of 62 out of 70 assembly seats. This is for the second time that the party has swept the election-winning more than two-third of the seats.

In 2015 the party had won 67 seats. Bhartiya Janata Party has won 8 seats, five more than the last assembly. However, the party managed to increase its vote share by over 6 percent from last elections. Point four-six percent voters pressed the NOTA button.

Prominent AAP leaders who won the elections include Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal from New Delhi, Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia from Patparganj, Gopal Rai from Babarpur, Satyendar Jain from Shakur Basti, Raghav Chadha from Rajinder Nagar, Rakhi Birla from Mangolpuri and Ajay Dutt from Ambedkar Nagar. 8 of its 9 women candidates won the election.

Among sitting BJP MLAs, Vijender Gupta from Rohini and Om Prakash Sharma from Vishwas Nagar managed to hold the fort against their AAP challengers. Congress was nowhere in the reckoning as it could not open the account for the second time in a row. Party performance touched a new low with all except three of its candidates lost their deposits.

Delhi Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal dissolved the Sixth Legislative Assembly of the National Capital Territory of Delhi yesterday. A new order will be issued for the formation of the Seventh Legislative Assembly.

Spread the love

Add a Comment