New governors in all seven provinces in Nepal

Graphic: THT Online

Nepal’s President Bidya Devi Bhandari has appointed new governors in all seven provinces of the country. According to a press release issued by the Office of President, new governors have been appointed on the recommendation of cabinet. Somnath Adhikari ‘Pyasi’ will be the new governor of Province 1, Tilak Pariyar for Province 2, Bishnu Prasad Prasai for Province 3, Amik Sherchan for Gandaki Province, Dharmanath Yadav for Province 5, Govinda Kalauni for Karnali Province and Sharmila Kumari Panta for Sudur Paschim Province. They are likely to be administered oath of office and secrecy today.

Earlier President Bidya Devi Bhandari had relieved governors of all seven provinces on Sunday. They were appointed in January 2018 by the outgoing Nepali Congress government after first ever provincial elections in the Himalyan nation. Nepal adopted federalism after the promulgation of new constitution in September 2015. First time in the history of the country elections for seven provincial assemblies were held in two phases on 26 November and 7 December 2017. Left Alliance had registered landslide victory in the historic elections.


Spread the love

Add a Comment