top cloud hosting company jaipur

Counting of votes underway for Delhi assembly elections

The ruling Aam Aadmi Party is leading at  50 seats, while BJP has taken lead in 20 constituencies in Delhi Assembly elections. The postal ballots were counted first and then the votes cast through electronic voting machines were taken up.

Counting of votes is progressing smoothly amid tight security. The counting began at 8 am and will be held in multiple rounds.
The counting centres are spread across 21 locations, spanning the 70 constituencies. Each centre has several counting halls, equal to the number of constituencies falling in that district.

Each EVM consists of a ballot unit, a controls units and a voter-verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT). After counting of votes through controls units from every assembly constituency, five VVPATs will be randomly selected and they will be counted. 62.59 per cent voter turnout was recorded this year, five per cent less than 2015.

The counting centres are located across 11 districts, including at CWG Sports Complex in east Delhi, NSIT Dwarka in west Delhi, Meerabai Institute of Technology and GB Pant Institute of Technology in southeast Delhi, Sir CV Raman ITI, Dheerpur in central Delhi, and Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Bawana in north Delhi.

The election, largely seen as a battle between the AAP and the BJP, was held on Saturday, sealing the fate of 672 candidates – 593 men and 79 women.

Spread the love

Add a Comment